The shortlist for the 18th annual MOBO Awards has been revealed at a swanky ceremony at The Connaught Rooms in London last night (Tuesday 3 September 2013) with Laura Mvula and Wiley leading nominations.

Mvula, who scored a top ten album with her debut Sing To The Moon earlier this year, is among those competing for the best female artist at the awards, which celebrate music of black origin.

She has also been shortlisted in the video, and R&B/soul act categories – and will go head to head with Wiley for the best album prize.

The latter is nominated in that category for his recent release Ascent, while he will also compete for best male act, best hip-hop/grime act and best song for his track Reloaded, featuring Chip.

Others named include Lianne La Havas, Naughty Boy, Disclosure and Jessie Ware. You can vote for your favourite act here.

The full list of nominees for the 2013 MOBO Awards is as follows:

Best Newcomer
Elli Ingram
Etta Bond
Fuse ODG
Jacob Banks
Jahmene Douglas
Krept and Konan
Sam Smith
Stylo G

Best Male Act
Naughty Boy
Wretch 32

Best Female Act
Jessie J
Jessie Ware
Laura Mvula
Lianna La Havas
Rita Ora

Best Video
Aluna George – ‘Attracting Flies’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Bassline Junkie’
Fuse ODG ft Wyclef – ‘Antenna’
Laura Mvula – ‘Green Garden’
Naughty Boy feat. Sam Smith – ‘La La La’
Rizzle Kicks – ‘Lost Generation’

Best UK Hip Hop/Grime
K Koke
Tinie Tempah
Wretch 32

Best Album
Angel – ‘About Time’
Disclosure – ‘Settle’
Laura Mvula – ‘Sing To the Moon’
Rudimental – ‘Home’
Wiley – ‘Ascent’

Best R&B/Soul Act
Jessie Ware
Laura Mvula
Lianne La Havas

Best Song
Disclosure feat. Aluna George – ‘White Noise’
Naughty Boy – ‘La La La’
Rudimental – ‘Waiting All Night’
Wiley feat. Chip – ‘Reloaded’
Wretch 32 ft Shakka – ‘Black Out’

Best International Act
Iggy Azalea
J. Cole
Jason Derulo
Jay Z
Justin Timberlake
Kanye West
Kendrick Lamar
Robin Thicke

Best Jazz Act
Sons Of Kemet
Courtney Pine
Soweto Kinch
Jazz Jamaica





Comments are closed.