missflavour-melissa-2Introducing real life beauty queen Melissa Lewars, the 21-year-old student who won the title of Miss Flavour 2009 at a star-studded ceremony held at Café de Paris on Wednesday 11th November.

Melissa beat 20 other contestants to win the title, with children’s worker Angelique Davis walking away with 1st runner up and musical theatre student and salsa dancing champion Xenia Bragaginni winning 2nd runner up.

Miss Flavour 2009 was one of the most anticipated events of the year. The guys attending were full of swagga and style and the women were an equal match. A night where women came together to celebrate killer heels, sequined dresses and toilet gossip breaks about their favourite contestant.

So, with the hot crowd sorted, it was time for even hotter music. In steps DJ Longers, DJ Chef and Fab Vibez.

With everyone in, it was time to start the pageant with hosts MTV’s Kojo the Comedian and Britain’s Next Top Model contestant Annaliese Dayes taking to the helm.

Here come the girls: Xenia Bragaginni, Melissa Lewars, Jada Chantina, Michelle Grant, Claire Fox, Masika Cope, Thandiewe Sithole, Lolly Alade, Tailia Santo, Crystal Sinclair, Twaniqueca Palmer, Farina West, Karima Djerbaa, Yana Toma, Natasha Hudson, Antonio Osborne, Angelique Davis, Natalie Edwards, Amiee Winney and Gemma Web – were the 20 hopefuls taking part.

The first performance was KHY who blasted on stage and gave a terrific opening to the night. Supporting them were not back-up dancers but the Miss Flavour finalists in their swimwear wear- a stiff competition had begun as to where we should look, KHY or the girls?

Now I’ve only seen KHY perform once before in concert but I didn’t keep up with them after that. After last night I can say that KHY will definitely take the name ‘British boyband’ to another level. So watch this space.

The night continued to entertain with performances by rock/rnb singer Cherri V and the funk twosome Coldsteps and Zest.

But the biggest performance of the night was Egypt. Last year Kyla gave us ‘Do You Mind?’ which became one of the biggest funky anthems. This year Egypt’s ‘In The Morning’ has done the same thing.

BBC radio presenter Tim Westwood, Choice FM’s Masterstepz, comedian’s Eddie Kadi, Miss London and Slim and celebrity judge Sway were just some of the UK stars in the house.

The contest had a new addition this year with a round called Strike a Pose where their girls climbed onto a podium and posed off against each other to cheers from their fellow contestants and the crowd.

Last up with the Q & A round where each girl strutted down the catwalk greeting the hosts to answer their pre-arranged questions. It was this round that really highlighted the potential winners as it was evident that some contestants put more work into constructing their answers than others. As the event drew to a close, it was time to witness Miss Flavour 2008 Sasha Shantel Bennett pass on her reign to the new heir.

“And the winner is…,” says host Kojo. “Melissa Lewars!” At this point all her friends and family jumped on stage in excitement and the security had to intervene to get them off.

One wonders if this year was this big, then expect bigger things for Miss Flavour 2010.

If you would like to enter Miss Flavour 2010 go to to register.

The event is sponsored by
Storm London, Apple Bottoms, Lusters,, Get

Words by Nadifa Sheikhey, photography by J Watson & SK-D photography



Comments are closed.