New Life is the highly anticipated new album from the multi platinum, Grammy award winning artist, Monica. Defining cool R’n’B, the record is a soulful mix of clean melodies, vocals and beats. Coming to you in a standard and deluxe version, the record delivers robust rhythms and provides a soundtrack ideal for relaxation.

This beautifully, sweet creation produces memorable R’n’B tracks the USA is known for and takes you on a journey of transformation and rebirth. The album is dedicated to her family and faith and you can clearly see this throughout the record.

New Life features the reunion of Monica and Brandy, who we know together created the 1998 classic smash hit ‘The Boy is Mine’. Their powerhouse duet collaboration on the track, ‘It All Belongs to Me’, is an anthem about independence and dominance. I can imagine many people screaming these exact words during a heated argument, fight or break up.

However it is her collaborations with Wale and Rick Ross (in the deluxe version) that get you even more excited about the album’s release. New Life also reunites Monica with some long time producers such as Missy Elliot, Jermaine Dupri, Polow Da Don and Lamb as well as first time Salaam Remi.

The album has a clear message of reflection and encourages everyone to stay strong. Featured songs create an autobiographical experience, giving you snippets of her past and her present with small hints of what she wants in the future.

I highly recommend listening to: ‘It All Belongs To Me’, ‘Big Mistake’, ‘Until It’s Gone’, ‘Take a Chance’ ft Wale, ‘Daddy’s Good Girl’ and ‘In 3D’.


New Life is simple and is sure to be a future R’n’B classic. With a clear story arc, the album has deep, meaningful lyrics that aim to stay in your mind long after you’ve stopped listening.

Rating: 6/10 Flavours

New Life is out April 9th




Comments are closed.