TV Collective logoOn Thursday 22nd April BBC’s Brenda Emmanus and Channel 4 news anchorman Khrisnan Guru Murthy will hosted an evening at Bafta which shone the spotlight on the very best diverse talent.

This event is the first of its kind and a culmination of weeks of voting by over a 1000 members, supporters and friends of the TV Collective; a non-profit independent organisation dedicated to promoting diversity within the British TV and Film industries, voted for whose work they think should be recognized by their peers. Some of the country’s leading broadcasters and production companies were in attendance to find out what the diverse production community thought about some of the biggest programs of the last year.

We hope the event will shine a spotlight on the contribution of diversity over the past year, both on and off screen but also provide an opportunity to networking with some of the industry biggest hitters

Both Channel 4 and BBC demonstrated their commitment to diversity by throwing their weight behind the event. Channel 4 sponsored ‘The Outstanding Achievement’ whilst BBC Vision sponsored all the caterogies highlighting the best in production talent.

“These awards are very important, it is our opportunity as the diverse production community to set our own benchmark, and remind ourselves of some of the successes we have enjoyed over the past year. Each success illustrates the critical acclaim and commercial success diversity has to offer but more importantly the opportunity missed by the industry not embracing it”

The winners were:

Best Factual Programme
The Family (Channel 4),

Best Factual Talent – Sponsored by the BBC Vision
Matt Rudge Producer /Director Austistic Me (BBC 3)

Best Entertainment Programme
Come Dine With Me (Produced by ITV Studio for Channel 4)

Best Entertainment Talent -Sponsored by the BBC Vision
Angela Ferreira – Channel 4 Daytime Editor

Best Drama
Small Island (BBC1),

Best Drama Talent – Sponsored by the BBC Vision
Alrick Riley Director – Ashes to Ashes (BBC1), Spooks

Best Actress
Sophie Okendo (Mrs Mandela)

Best Actor
Patterson Joseph (Survivors, BBC1)

Best TV Personality
Dr Robert Beckford God Bless You Barack Obama (BBC2)

Outstanding Achievement Award – Sponsored by Channel 4
Angela Jain (Head of E4)

You can become a member of The TV Collective by joining them on Facebook, Twitter or YouTube.