The Nominations for the 7th Screen Nation awards were announced Wednesday night.

Screen Nation has been at the forefront of acknowledging the best in Black British talent for several years. It has been dubbed as the ‘Black Baftas’ and its primary aim is to acknowledge the achievements of those in the film and television industry over the course of 12 months.

This year’s award ceremony will be held on October 16 at the IndigO2, and will be hosted by one of TV’s favourit couples, Angellica Bell and Michael Underwood.

Past winners include acting legend, Morgan Freeman, and the UK’s Noel Clarke and Thandie Newton.

The Screen Nation awards (formerly the BFM Film and TV Awards) was founded in 2003 by film producer, Charles Thompson, as a platform to raise the profile of black British and international film and television talent.



This year’s Nominations are:

UK Screen Achievements Awards

Male Performance in Film

Adam Deacon – Anuvahood, Everywhere & Nowhere, Shank

Chiwetel Ejiofor – Salt, Endgame, 2012

Clint Dyer – Sus

Colin Salmon – Clubbed, Devils Playground

Eamonn Walker – Legacy: Black Ops

Idris Elba – Legacy, Obsessed Thor, Takers

Noel Clarke – Screwed,, Centurion

Female Performance in Film

Shanika Warren-Markland –

Sherrie Silver – Africa United

Sophie Okonedo – The Secret Life of Bees, Skin

Thandie Newton – 2012, For Colored Girls, W

Male Performance in TV

Ashley Walters – Small Island, Outcast, Five Days

Chiwetel Ejiofor – The Shadow Line, Endgame

David Oyelowo – Blood & Oil, Small Island

Idris Elba – Luther, The Office (US), The Big C

Jimmy Akingbola – Holby City, Rev, Doctors

Lenni James – Survivors, Walking Dead, Hung

Nonso Anozie – Stolen, Outcasts, I am Slave, Occupation

Shaun Parkes – Moses Jones, Small Island, Harley St, Identity

Female Performance in TV

Angel Coulby – Merlin

Ginny Holder – Holby City

Lenora Chrichlow – Material Girl, Being Human

Naomie Harris – Blood & Oil, Small Island

Nikki Amuka Bird – Small Island, Survivors, Luther, Silent Witness

Wunmi Mosaku- I am Slave, Vera, 32 Brinkburn St


Favourite Male TV Star

Aml Ameen

Arinze Kene

Chucky Venice

Levi Roots

Ricky Whittle


Favourite Female TV Star

Angela Griffin

Angellica Bell

Lorraine Pascale

Tameka Empson

Zaraah Abrahams


Emerging Talent

Abdul Salis – Casualty

Antonia Thomas – Misfits, The Deep

Arinze Kene – Freestyle, Eastenders, Hollyoaks

Ashley ‘Bashy’ Thomas – Shank, The Veteran,

Devon Anderson – Eastenders

La Charné Jolly – Holby City

Nadine Marshall – Random, The Shadow Line, Criminal Justice


Young Shooting Star (16-22)

Arnold Oceng – Adulthood,

Bunmi Mojekwu – Eastenders, Future Wags of GB, Coming up

Daniel Kaluuya – Chat Rom, Skins, Bellamy’s People, Psychoville, Random

John Boyega – Attack the Block

Merveille Lukeba – Skins, Bloody Foreigners

Tobi Bakare – The Shadow Line, Silent Witness, Casualty, Doctors


Comedy Performer

Andi Osho – Stand up for the Week, Mock the Week, Michael McIntryre’s Comedy Roadshow

Daniel Kaluuya – Bellamy’s People, Psychoville, Comedy Lab, That Mitchell & Webb Look

Dominque Moore – Hotel Trubble, My Almost Famous Family, Horrible Histories

Kobina Holdbrook-Smith – Sirens, Fighting the Flak

Miss London (Dionne Hughes) – CBBC, Laughter Shock

Richard Ayoade – The IT Crowd


Screen Craft Achievement Awards
Diversity in Factual Production

Caribbean Food Made Easy, BBC

High Society’s Favourite Gigolo, C4

Human Zoo: Science’s Dirty Secret, C4

On Tour with the Queen, C4

Saving Africa’s Witch Children, C4

The Family, C4

This is Lagos, BBC


Diversity in Drama Production

Blood and Oil – BBC

I am Slave – C4

Material Girl – BBC

Moses Jones – BBC

Small Island – BBC

Taking the Flak – BBC


Independent Spirit Film Production

Deadmeat – Q

Football Fables – Baff Akoto

Ham & the Piper – Mark Norfolk

Legacy – Thomas Ikimi

Sus – Clint Dyer

The Mirror Boy – Obi Emelonye

Crunch – Wayne G Saunders


Favourite Urban Movie sponsored by Flavour Magazine


Attack the Block

Dead Man Running


Favourite Music Video Performance sponsored by Flavour Magazine

Chipmunk – Champion

JJC- We are Africans

Taio Cruz – Dynamite

Tinchy Stryder – In my System

Tinie Tempah – Pass Out

Wretch 32 – Traktor

International Screen Awards
Favourite International Film

For Colored Girls

Good Hair


Why Did I Get Married Too


Male Screen Personality (Film/TV)

Anthony Mackie

Denzel Washington

Hill Harper

Micheal K. Williams

Tyler Perry


Female Screen Personality (Film/TV)

Gabby Sidibe

Kimberley Elise


Paula Patton

Zoe Saldana


Cinema Director

Baff Akoto – Football Fables

Kolton Lee – Freestyle, Cherps

Noel Clarke –

Obi Emelonye – The Mirror Boy

Richard Ayoade – Submarine

Thomas Ikimi – Legacy: Black Ops


BME Channel







Favourite W African Film



Perfect Picture

Sinking Sands

The Figurine

The Mirror Boy

Favourite W African Actor

Hakeem Kae Kazim

John Dumelo

Majid Michel

Mike Ezuruonye

Osita Iheme

Ramsey Noah


Favourite W African Actress

Ama K Abebrese

Funke Akindele

Genevieve Nnaji

Jackie Appiah

Mercy Johnson

Omotola Jolade

Highlights of the ceremony will be screened in late October on OH TV (Sky199).

By Rykesha Hudson

Previous articleScreen Nation Awards: VOTE NOW!
Next articleNew Music- Estelle “Thank You”
I’m a vegetarian who hates vegetables. Contradictory I know, but that’s me, so hey! My life consists of magazines, books and old re-runs of Friends. I have worked for several North London newspapers and I am a regular guest writer for an online beauty and lifestyle magazine.I hope to inspire with my words and random thoughts to anyone willing to listen. I aim to be the best at whatever I end up doing. What that is- I don’t know just yet. But it sure will be fun finding out.